Constitution of the Trust Governing Reighton Village Hall, a Charity (hereinafter referred to as "the Foundation") created by the Vesting of Land at St Helen's Lane, Reighton by a Lease dated 16th January 1956

1.Aims and Objectives: The Foundation shall manage the land at St Helen's lane, Reighton and the Village Hall erected thereon (hereinafter called "the Trust Property"). The Trust Property shall be held upon trust for the purposes of a Village Hall for the use of the inhabitants and the neighbourhood (hereinafter called "the area of benefit") and in particular for use for meetings, lectures and classes and for other forms of recreation and leisure-time occupation with the object of improving the conditions of life for the said inhabitants.

2. Membership: Anyone over the age of eighteen years and resident within the area of benefit will be eligible for membership of the Foundation. There will be no charge for membership. The Foundation will not discriminate on the grounds of gender, race, colour, ethnic or national origin, sexuality, disability, religious or political belief, marital status or age.

3. Committee of Management: (hereinafter called "the Committee").

The Committee shall consist of a minimum of six members to be elected at the Annual General Meeting as provided for in this Constitution. Their term in office will commence at the Annual General Meeting at which they are elected and expire at the end of the Annual General Meeting in the following year.

The Committee shall have the power to co-opt not more than three members to hold office until the end of the Annual General Meeting following their co-option. Any competent member may be re-elected.

Any member who is adjudged bankrupt or who makes a composition or arrangement with his creditors or who is incapacitated from acting or who communicates a wish to resign shall thereupon cease to be a member of the Committee.

4. Committee of Management – Responsibility and Liability:

The Committee shall be the Administering Trustee of the Foundation and shall be responsible for the management of the Trust Property in conformity with the Deed of Declaration of Trusts dated 12th March 1960. The Trust Property may be used by any persons or bodies as the Committee think fit, either free of rent or subject to a charge to be agreed by the Committee.

The Committee shall present to each Annual General Meeting the reports and accounts for the Foundation for the preceding year.

The Committee will decide whether or when to hold Special General Meetings during the course of the year.

The members of the Committee will bear personal responsibility for the affairs of the Foundation and shall be jointly and severally liable for any debts and liabilities incurred. No person shall be entitled to act as a member of the Committee until after signing in the Minute Book of the Committee a declaration of acceptance and of willingness to act in the trusts of the afore-mentioned Deed.

5. Meetings of the Committee of Management: The Committee shall hold at least two ordinary meetings in each year and may hold such other ordinary meetings as may be required. A meeting may be summoned at any time by the Secretary or any two members upon seven clear days notice being given to all the other members of the Committee of the matters to be discussed.

Voting: Every matter shall be determined by the majority of the Members present and voting on the question. In case of equality of votes, the Chairman of the meeting shall have a second or casting vote. Four Members, including at least two office-holders, will be required to be present to form a quorum.

6. Annual General Meeting and Special General Meetings: There shall be an Annual General Meeting (AGM) in connection with the Foundation which shall be held in the month of April each year or as soon as practicable thereafter. The Chairman of the AGM will be the Chairman of the Committee of Management for the time being during the preceding year. All inhabitants of the area of benefit of eighteen years of age shall be entitled to attend and vote at the AGM or any Special General Meeting (SGM). The quorum will be twelve. Public notice of every AGM or SGM shall be given in the area of benefit at least seven days beforehand by affixing a notice to some conspicuous part of the Trust Property or other conspicuous place in the area of benefit and by such other means as the Committee shall think fit. The AGM shall elect a minimum of six Members of the Committee of Management, including a Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer.

Every matter to be decided at the AGM or SGM shall be determined by the majority of the Members present and voting on the question. In case of equality of votes the Chairman of the meeting shall have a second or casting vote.

- **7. Finance:** All revenues received will be paid into an account in the name of the Foundation. The Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer will be authorised signatories to the account and two signatures will be required to authorise each cheque or payment. The income of the Foundation will be applied in (a) the maintenance, upkeep and insurance of the Trust Property and the payment of taxes and other expenses connected therewith; and (b) in otherwise furthering the purposes specified in the afore-said Aims and Objectives.
- **8. Alteration to the Constitution:** Any alteration to the Constitution will need to be agreed by a resolution to be passed at the AGM or SGM subject to the notice arrangements as set out above. The quorum will be twelve as for a normal AGM or SGM. However, such resolution will need to be passed by a two-thirds majority.
- **9. Dissolution:** If the Committee decides at any time that on the grounds of expense or otherwise that it is necessary or advisable to discontinue the use of the Trust Property in whole or in part for the purpose stated in the Aims and Objectives, it shall call a meeting of the inhabitants of the area of benefit of which meeting not less than fourteen days notice (stating the terms of the Resolution that will be proposed thereat) shall be posted in a conspicuous place or places on the Trust Property and advertised in a newspaper circulating in the area of benefit. In the event that a majority of the Members vote in favour of the Resolution then the procedure for the sale or letting of the Trust Property shall be as laid down in Clause 21 of the Deed of Declaration of Trusts dated 12th March 1960.

DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE, ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF RECEIPT OF A COPY OF THE CONSTITUTION AND STATEMENT OF WILLINGNESS TO ACT IN ACCORDANCE WITH TERMS OF SAID CONSTITUTION

 Pete Wyatt (Chairman)
 Debbie Rookes (Secretary)
 Jan Thompson (Treasurer)
 Mark Rookes
 Frank Thompson
 Anne Hinchliffe
 Chris Chadwick
 Chrissie Chadwick
 Di Lister
 Linda Kapojieva

13th July 2022